Benno Meier obtained his PhD (summa cum laude) with Jürgen Haase from Leipzig University in 2012, followed by post-doctoral work with Malcolm Levitt. He invented bullet-DNP and obtained an EPSRC Early Career Fellowship (£0.8M) in 2018. Since September he heads his own research group in Southampton.

Benno is CEO and co-founder of HyperSpin.


Karel Kouril obtained his PhD in Physics with Prof. Helena Stepankova at Charles University in Prague in 2013, followed by an appointment as Senior Assistant Professor. In 2015 he joined the Levitt group at University of Southampton to study molecular endofullerenes. Karel has contributed critically to the success of bullet-DNP.

Karel is CTO and co-founder of HyperSpin.


Hana Kourilova obtained her PhD with Lenka Hanyková from Charles University in Prague in 2011, followed by a post-doctoral work in CEA Saclay with Gaspard Huber and Patrick Berthault. In 2017 she joined the Levitt group at University of Southampton to work on PHIP and DNP. Hana develops parahydrogen generators and contributes to bullet-DNP.

Hana is COO and co-founder of HyperSpin.

HyperSpin Scientific Ltd. was founded in 2018 as a spinout of University of Southampton, UK. Our mission is to make nuclear spin hyperpolarization as useful and accessible as possible. At present we provide a range of solutions for dissolution dynamic nuclear polarization and para-hydrogen induced polarization. Prototypes of our products are typically developed at, and licensed by, University of Southampton.